top of page

About Us

Our Mission -
Funding College Dreams

The Oconomowoc Scholarship Fund is a community-based, non-profit organization 501(c)(3) whose purpose is to encourage post high-school study by Oconomowoc area students.

Scholarships are awarded annually to students planning four years of undergraduate study or to students planning a two-year program at a technical college.

Our Mission

Founder & History

History of the Fund

In 1947 C.W. Brown, our founder, gathered a group of community leaders for the purpose of developing a way to aid area students who were interested in continuing their education beyond the high school level. Today, the Oconomowoc Scholarship Fund is run by a board of community members passionate about education and opportunity for Oconomowoc area students. 

Funding for scholarships relies on public contributions, support via philanthropic activities and general solicitations from the community. A portion of the funds comes from the Hilbert Scherffius Fund, administered by the Oconomowoc Area Foundation (Greater Milwaukee Foundation).

About our Founder - C.W. Brown


The Oconomowoc Scholarship Fund was founded in 1947 by C. W. Brown, owner of C. W. Brown Printing Company and Publisher/Editor of the Oconomowoc Enterprise. Brown’s tie to the newspaper business reaches back to his childhood job in Fargo, ND as a newspaper delivery boy in the early 1900’s.

At the early age of 16, Brown was made circulation manager of the Fargo Forum. Brown’s love for print media brought him to Wisconsin in 1936 and to the opportunity with the Oconomowoc Enterprise. His family quickly became involved in the printing business with his two sons, Bruce and Bart, serving integral roles in the paper’s daily operations and technology advancements throughout the years.

The family continues in the tradition of supporting the Oconomowoc Scholarship Fund and many other community organizations to date.

Founder & History

Board of Directors

OSF Board of Directors – 2023-2024

  • Linda Patel

  • William Lentz

  • Angela Fisher

  • Rebecca Seymour

  • Jolene Pipp

  • Colleen Moran

  • Mike Miller

  • Dr. Susan Schrank

  • Panny Bongardt

  • Kerry Grosse

  • Brad Bella

OSF Board 2023.jpg

Row 1, Left to Right: Dr. Susan Schrank, Brenda Pillard, Jolene Pipp, Panny Bongardt

Row 2, Left to Right: Brad Bella, Jennifer Pesicek, Colleen Moran, Bill Lentz, Mike Miller, Jeff Ek, Angela Fisher, Rebecca Seymour

Not Pictured: Katie Sadorf, Steve Garman, Linda Patel, Kerry Grosse

Board of Directors

Past Presidents

The OSF would not be here today without our dedicated and passionate presidents. We are forever grateful for their leadership and contributions.

  • Jolene Pipp (2021-2023)

  • Linda Patel (2019-2021)

  • Tracy Fazi (2015-2019)

  • Mike Toennies (2011-2015)

  • Jeff Burchardt (2007-2010)

  • Bill Lentz (2005-2007)

  • Jack Hutter (2002-2004)

  • Jeff Feder (1999-2001)

  • John B. Cooley (1994-1998)

  • William Kreutzmann (1990-1993)

  • Bart Brown (1987-1989)

  • ​Mary Henszey (1984-1986)

  • Corene Thorsen (1981-1983)

  • Richard C. Navine, Jr. (1980)

  • William Wiersdma (1977-1979)

  • Jack Kinn (1977)

  • E. Herbert Warner (1965-1969)

  • W.A. Andrews (1962-1964)

  • C.W. Brown (1956-1961)

Past Presidents
bottom of page