top of page
  • OSF


Despite taking a rigorous course load, Ashur Mariano ranks 10th in his OHS class with a 4.44 grade point average. He completed the IB Diploma Program, is a member of the Math, French, English and National Honor Societies, and also participated on the baseball and track teams. The son of Kristin Mariano and the late Elpidio Mariano of Oconomowoc will receive a Hilbert Scherffius Scholarship, worth $12,000 over four years on behalf of the Oconomowoc Area Foundation. Ashur started taking high school math classes in 7th grade and has won numerous math competitions. He will study actuarial science at UW-Madison. Teachers say Ashur has “passion and perseverance. When other students might look for excuses, he finds solutions.”

Austin Lord will attendSt. Norbert College in De Pere to study business and sports marketing. The son of Terry and Nicholas Lord of Oconomowoc will receive $12,000 over four years as the recipientof a Hilbert Scherffius Scholarship on behalf of the Oconomowoc Area Foundation. Austin earned the International Baccalaureate Diploma, is president of the National Business Honor Society, a member of DECA, FBLA, and National Honor Society, and competed on the OHS Varsity Track team, earning the role of captain his senior year. Austin is a founding member of the Leadership Volunteer Program, participating in the club since 2017.

Teachers call Thea Holtzen “one in a million…with an unfaltering desire to succeed.” The daughter of Thomas and Candace Holtzen of Delafield will receive $12,000 over four years as the winner of a Hilbert Scherffius Scholarship on behalf of the Oconomowoc Area Foundation. Thea is a member of the Music, Science, English and Social Studies Honor Societies at Oconomowoc High School. Her true passion is dancing, but she also has curiosity for science and a drive to help others. She will attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with a unique double major in both dance and forensic science that she says will give her “multiple career opportunities.”

Pictured from left: Ashur Mariano, Austin Lord, Thea Holtzen and Maribeth Bush-OAF


bottom of page